If This Then That

This one isn’t unique to sysadmins. But as a sysadmin, you have a lot of online accounts that sit in silos across the web. Silos are bad. Imagine if you could someone get all of those accounts talking to one another so that something you do in one silo triggers something else in another silo.

Enter If This Then That

This is one of those genius concepts that most of us saw and immediately said to ourselves “Why didn’t I think of that?” and “Why has it taken mankind this long to come up with something this perfect?”

Confidence in mankind has been restored.

Some terms:

  • Channels – these are the online accounts you want IFTTT to use.
  • Tasks – connecting A to B is done with a task. For example, if I star an item in Google Reader, IFTTT sends me an email with the link.
  • Recipes – these are just Tasks you’ve made public for the rest of the world to use.

After setting up some Channels, you can start creating Tasks to get your accounts to do what you want them to do. You don’t have to write any code, read any API docs, or anything else. When I get tagged in a photo on Facebook, it adds it to my Flickr account. Another task copies it to my Dropbox.

Here’s one I’ve been using recently: if I star something in Google Reader (which I normally do from the Reeder app on my iPhone) send me the link in an email.

Let me know if you try it...

